Money Matters - Simplified

rookies of the year

Posey, Feliz are rookies of the year

New York -- San Francisco catcher Buster Posey and Texas pitcher Neftali Feliz were voted rookies of the year in their respective leagues, it was announced Monday.

Posey, the Giants' first rookie of the year award winner since John Montefusco in 1975, was named first on 20 of the 32 ballots for National League rookie of the year. He was second on nine ballots and third on two others for a total of 129 points. Atlanta's Jason Heyward, with nine first-place votes and 107 points, was second.

Feliz was first on 20 of the 28 American League ballots and totaled 122 points. Detroit's Austin Jackson (98 points) was second. Feliz is only the second Rangers player to be named rookie of the year. The other was Mike Hargrove in 1974.