Money Matters - Simplified


Harris to host Video Game Awards show

New York -- U.S. actor Neil Patrick Harris has been tapped to serve as host of Spike TV's 2010 Video Game Awards.

"Neil is a big gamer and a brilliant host," Casey Patterson, the event's executive producer, said in a statement Monday. "Video games are taking over the world and Neil is perfect to lead the 'VGAs' in celebrating the best of the year and the future of gaming."

Israeli sitcom wins Emmy

Jerusalem -- The Israeli sitcom "Traffic Light" won the international Emmy Award for best comedy at a ceremony Monday night in New York.

The show was chosen out of 39 nominees in more than 10 categories presented by the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Haaretz said.

Adir Miller, actor and creator of the show, and producer Elad Kuperman were present at the ceremony, said.

Miller later told the Web site he was trembling when he went up on stage to receive the award.

Filming the U.S. version of the sitcom started this month, the show's writer, Ran Sarig, told Haaretz.

First round of CMA awards announced

Nashville -- Nashville star Miranda Lambert competes against herself in two categories of the first round of nominees announced Tuesday by the Country Music Association.

Nominees were announced in seven categories Tuesday and the remaining five categories will be revealed Wednesday on ABC's "Good Morning America," the CMA said in a news release.

Lambert's songs "The House That Built Me" and "White Liar" are nominated in the the Single of the Year and Music Video of the Year categories. Lambert also is up for Song of the Year for "White Liar," which she co-wrote with Natalie Hemby.

The 44th Annual CMA Awards will be broadcast live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville Nov. 10 on ABC.

The categories and nominees announced Tuesday were:

13 vying for Man Booker Prize

London -- Peter Carey's "Parrot and Olivier in America" and Emma Donoghue's "Room" were among the nominees announced in London for the 2010 Man Booker Prize.

The long list for the literary award was unveiled Tuesday.

It also includes Helen Dunmore's "The Betrayal," Damon Galgut's "In a Strange Room," Howard Jacobson's "The Finkler Question," Andrea Levy's "The Long Song," Tom McCarthy's "C," David Mitchell's "The Thousand Autumns of Zacob de Zoet," Lisa Moore's "February," Paul Murray's "Skippy Dies," Rose Tremain's "Trespass," Christos Tsiolkas' "The Slap" and Alan Warner's "The Stars in the Bright Sky."